Ok, so we’re three days in and honestly? I don’t miss it!

Well, that’s not strictly true. Having to re-learn how to live with predictive text, which persistently replaces the word “don’t” with “foot” as you ignore the apostrophe, in trying to save characters and typing time, is pretty annoying. As is constantly having to constantly erase your messages because there’s one pending delivery and there isn’t a slot to store it in.

Also irritating is that there was no straight-forward (at least, not manual) way of transferring my contacts across. I’ve literally had to start my address book again for the next few weeks, so I apologise now to all the friends of mine who text me in the coming days and either don’t get a response because Apple hasn’t removed my number from their iMessage servers, resulting in a message that just never delivers, or who get a response from me saying “Sorry, don’t have this number saved. Long story, who is this?”

I realise I’ve turned to social media, but at least this way I’ve had a chance to tell at least one or two people what’s going on. I’m also going to point out now that I see WordPress as more of a hobby than anything else. I never profess to writing anything that would be regarded as prolific, but I enjoy doing it. Also, it’s configured to automatically post this on Facebook and Tweet it – BEFORE ANYONE SAYS ANYTHING!! 

Having said that, I also don’t have the constant fear that it’s going to run out of juice on me, either. I’m not constantly looking for a place to charge it. That in itself is a massive stress I carry with me, thanks to my iPhone…

Bizarrely, with a blanket ban on it, I’m not feeling the need to scour any of it at all. The upshot of that is I’m finding the ability to focus on one task at a time far easier, which was one of the main reasons behind doing this the first place. I did toy with the idea of handing over control of the main culprits to my Mum, or my Sister. Although I felt this would ultimately do me an injustice, I also wanted to test my ability to ignore them during the day. Strangely enough, I’m managing that no problem too, although I do have one of the guys in the department kindly offering to check the sites my work laptop visits of a day to make sure I don’t break any promises… He’s also taken it upon himself to search both my desk and my person every morning to make sure I haven’t smuggled in any contraband.

I am finding time spent in the car driving to and from work is far less enjoyable… I can usually be found listening to Lana Del Ray, some Fleetwood Mac or more recently, Melbourne Underground. Instead I have Nick Grimshaw and Greg James for company and, as entertaining as they are, they’re just NAE the same!

In the days that followed, I have had people make a few suggestions. Some have suggested raising money for charity, others that I perhaps allow some time for it in the evenings, to realise the benefits of not being connected with everyone I know all day every day.

I did have a charity idea in mind, when the thought of doing this first struck me  on Monday night. As the guy who’s tweet spawned the entire experiment, Liam Hackett, is CEO of Ditch The Label an anti-bullying charity based in Brighton, my immediate thought was that I would raise money for him. He’s doing a sponsored silence on the 18th of May and has set up a JustGiving page. I finally got round to sponsoring him for it tonight, and if you want to sponsor him there’s a link here.

If you’re into such things, you can follow Liam and Ditch the Label on Twitter – @DiaegoLiam and @DitchTheLabel.

However, I feel this is a bit of a first-world problem. Raising money through sponsorship usually involves having to put yourself through some form of suffering. For example, running a 10k, or the London Marathon, as my chum Sophie from work did just recently. Raising a whopping £5k for Meningitis Now in the process, I hasten to add! Living without your smartphone for a few weeks really isn’t a hardship, but I guess it all depends on what your stance is. Quite a few people have voiced their opinions; many of them have stated the wouldn’t be able to do it…so perhaps that’s reason enough in itself to squeeze a few quid out of my adoring fans? :p

I guess what it really comes down to is the general consensus. After all, charities still do good work and it’s about providing them with the resources to continue. If I manage to raise a sum for a group of people trying to make a real difference in the world, what’s the harm? There should be a comment section underneath this, let me know your thoughts and, if the reaction is positive and people don’t see what I”m doing as something wholly narcissistic, I’ll set something up. That is, when I’ve surfaced from my gin coma in the morning…

Please post them on the Wordpress post. I won’t be able to see them if they’re on Facebook…!

The last suggestion was to keep a diary of some description, which I’m currently doing now (thanks Dorota!). I had toyed with keeping a video diary that I would post at the end, but what might surprise you is that I actually hate being in front of the camera, so I decided against that… If I think my struggles are going to be interesting though, I’ll keep doing this.

Keep tweeting folks. For my sake, if nothing else!

Lewis
x

 

