A month without my iPhone…

To make a suggestion such as this to those nearest me would get me laughed at. But this evening, I’ve considered it in all seriousness, and I’m going to do it.

Why, you ask?

The latest internet craze has been a spoken word film called “Look Up”. A poem told by a guy in his twenties about technology, social media and the detrimental effect that sharing each and every moment of our lives is having on society.

If you haven’t seen it yet…

I’ve been meaning to watch this and I finally got the chance to this evening, after seeing it tweeted with the words:

“…this will make you want to turn off your phone.”

It really struck a chord with me. It described exactly what each day of my life has become; as a slave, to my iPhone 5.

Now I don’t mean to make myself sound as if I’m the only human being in existence whom this piece of work relates to. It fits all of us. But it’s given me the proverbial kick up the backside that I needed to do something which is becoming a genuine problem in my life.

I can’t put my phone down.

And it’s not even because I’m popular; that I have many hundreds of adoring fans who want to hear how my day was. I pick it up, I check Facebook, refresh my Twitter timeline and go on Instagram. I put it down. 5 minutes later, I pick it up and I do it all again. Lather, rinse, retweet…

It’s driving me insane!

I do it to satisfy a need for attention, a need which smartphones and social media has spawned in all of us. My problem is I have no self-control, I tell myself to ignore my phone and it lasts, momentarily, before I’m back at it again; enduring that disappointing, sinking feeling, when I find that in the last 30 seconds I haven’t received a new notification.

It’s pathetic, and it needs to change. I feel as if it’s starting to have a harmful effect on my life. I can’t allow myself to sit back and allow it to continue, any longer.

And now, for my bit. Yes folks, I created a YouTube video as part of this; to explain exactly where I’m coming from.

So, to confirm, here’s what I’m going to be doing for the next month:

  • No Smartphone. The phone I replace it with will do nothing but talk and text.
  • No Facebook. No Twitter. No Instagram. I’m delegating control of these three to my family for the next 30 days to make sure I stick to it.
  • Computer time kept to a minimum and only for doing stuff that’s productive. No Facebook here, either.
  • Radio on in the car, no iPod, so I can keep up with what’s going on out-with the bubble I’ve existed in for the last few years.

See you in a month folks!

Lewis
x

