As you all know (and I’m not going to state for a second time, my addiction to social networking…oops, just did) when I sit down to write something like this, it’s usually because I’ve been struck with “inspiration”; the bolt of lightning through my skull, that hits all too infrequently to allow me to indulge in my favourite past-time as often as I would like.

I’ve been nominated for The Liebster, and as such there is a protocol for such things which I must now follow. I do, however, thank my fellow blogger, Hazy, for nominating me, as it serves me another 10 Jigawatt jolt to my brain which allows me to sit at my machine and do what I enjoy most: write.

My 5 Facts

Firstly, 5 facts about me. Being as insecure and consumed with self-loathing as I am this has proved a difficult challenge, however I’ve taken some inspiration from Alana; although not to be mistaken for direct copying.

If there’s one thing that school and uni taught me, it’s that plagiarism is wrong, and it’s downright embarassing when it shows up on your school report after doing a copy + paste job on one of your RMPS essays…because you couldn’t be bothered doing it yourself.

  1. Similarly, like Hazy, I’m an obsessive perfectionist. I hate when things aren’t right, but this is both a blessing and a curse. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve scratched the body work of my car in search of that perfect shine… Discouraging and endearing, both at the same time.
  2. I have a dire short-term memory. When I worked for John Lewis, I could forget the order I’d been given by a customer in the time it took me to turn round and tell the Barista person what it was. I’m not kidding.
  3. I love technology. Or, more accurately, whatever happens to come from the church of Apple. Some get excited over the football buying window, or knitting patterns. For me, it’s screen resolution, storage capacity and data transmission/CPU clock speeds. Each to their own, as they say.
  4. I’m a wino, courtesy of my Dad. In fact, in the last year or so, my idea of a great night out has became invading my parents living room (whilst I still live at home) with some friends, a pizza, a bottle of something red and a trashy horror film, rather than hit the pubs and clubs which form Aberdeen’s apparently ‘buzzing’ night-scene.
  5. I’m actually quite a shy person. This would surprise many, but until I’m comfortable around folk I can be quiet and awkward; usually resulting in me saying something totally weird, that had an entirely different meaning in my head.

Hazy’s 5 Questions For Me

1 ~ What drives you to do whatever it is you do?
Fish gotta swim, bird’s gotta eat. In other words, something needs to keep me in the black whilst I waste money on petrol and Apple creations. In all honesty, I love working. I don’t do well with free time, I tend to do very little in the way of productive activities with it. Having a role and something to keep me occupied is all I ask for, and I throw myself right into it.

2 ~ What brings you the most joy in life?
Helping other folk I guess. Once someone comes to me with something, I tend not to let it go until I’ve done everything I can.

3 ~ Are you where you want to be at this stage in the game?
Yes. I have goals, and my impatience is making the time taken to reach the next one particularly painful. I’m comfortable however, and the fruits of my efforts at university have paid-off ten-fold in the last 8 months.

4 ~ If you could change one decision you’ve made in life, it would be…?
Not so much a specific decision, but my whole attitude really. I play it safe personally, and as a result I’ve missed out on a lot of things. If I could go back, I’d tell younger, teenage me, to grow a pair and just go for it. The regret I’m faced with now just isn’t worth it.

5 ~ Sweet, savory or both?
Both. A great life requires balance, why should your palate expect any less?

Passing the torch…

So, in accordance with protocol, I need to pass this along to a few fellow bloggers of mine. (I don’t follow that many people on here, so I’ve only given three.) Be aware that there is no obligation here. All you have to do folks is write another post and share a link to my blog in it. From there, it’s entirely up to yourselves.

Miss S. Bloggs

A budding poet, literature student and Facebook friend of mine.

The Devils Advocate

My close friend, who writes a blog purely to inspire thought and provoke some intellectual debate on the internet. Well worth a read.

The Nameless Author

Another close friend of mine, who’s blog I wanted to share whilst keeping their identity safe; think the Bruce Wayne of the blogosphere. I also know that this persons blogging has fallen by the wayside a little, and I want to give them the opportunity to jump back on the bandwagon – so to speak.

OK folks, your mission should you chose to accept it, is this:

~ Write a post with a link to me for the nomination

~ List a few ‘facts’ about yourself to share

~ Answer my five questions

~ Nominate a self-chosen amount of your fave bloggers (with three hundred or less followers)

My Five Questions to You All

1. If you could be a superhero for the day, who would it be and why?

2. What movie has made an impression on how you see yourself as a person?

3. If you had to change everything, and were allowed to retain one aspect of your current life, what would it be?

4. Of all the places you’ve visited, which would be your favourite or holds the most memories?

5. What is the one thing you cannot go a day without doing?

Thank to Alana for nominating me for this, and for giving me an excuse to sit in Starbucks with a gingerbread latte, a doughnut and the motivation I need to clatter away at my laptop for a few hours. Over to you guys, and thanks for reading!

Lewis
x