So, I’ve sat down to write this first official post three times now, and three times I’ve drafted it and three times I’ve scrapped it. I promised myself that won’t happen this time… I went into this blogging thing with an attitude of ‘start as you mean to go on’ but it’s not going as planned.

First off, I want to thank everyone who was at my 21st last week. From what I can remember (and it’s not much) it was a great night, and I’m so grateful for everyone that came along. I think this pretty much sums up the evening:

My cousin and sister, enjoying the fact I've KO'd on one of the tables...

 It would appear that mixing jagermeister, sambuca and tequila washed down with a few vodkas and a bottle of Veuve Cliquot was not the greatest idea my friends and I have ever had.

However, the hangover cleared (eventually), and through much shedding of weight after a weekend unable to eat, the beach body has finally arrived! It has only taken me 8 months to achieve this, proof to a statement from my high school rugby coach that I was built ‘for comfort and not speed.’ Still, I guess miracles can happen.

Off on holiday with Hannah next week! Can’t believe it’s finally here. Looking forward to finally seeing the sun this year, as I was working on the one day of summer we’ve had in Aberdeen. (shock) Only down side to coming home from Milan is that I’ll be into my final few months of placement at Subsea 7 and I’ll be another few months closer to real life, responsibility and adult-hood. Three phrases that come under profanities in the vocabulary of any normal student. All good things must come to an end though, and I hope that many windows open up as a result of a door closing!

Anyway, I’m getting hounded to go and get ready for dinner. Will write again from Rome!

Lewis

